- How to Avoid a Delayed Flight and Other Air Travel Woes
- IPhone 6 Feature Prevents Law Enforcement From Accessing Your Data
- Go Big or Go Home: The Million-Dollar Halloween Costume
- Pop Quiz: Does an Airline Have to Put You Up in a Hotel When Your Flight is Canceled?
- The Restless Project: $60K Income Doesn’t Cut It for My Family
- Target May Be Starting a Free-Shipping War
- Who is the Richest Person in Your State?
- MasterCard Introducing Fingerprint-Scanning Credit Card
This month only, the AARP is offering its driver safety course for $5 with a coupon code that nonmembers can also use. The course usually costs $20, and comparable courses are usually closer to $35.
The code is BHM2013, evidently in honor of Black HistoryMonth. You can sign up at aarp.org/driversafety. It takes four to eight hours, and you get two months to complete it.
In 34 states, an insurance discount for such a course is mandatory: insurers have to give it, and it could be up to 15 percent off. Those states are: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming. In some cases, it may take points off your license as well.
Even if you’re not in one of those states, many insurers voluntarily offer a discount, but it’s not guaranteed. Ask before you sign up whether you get a discount and how much.