Heads Up: Facebook Is Preparing to Delete Some of Your Photos

Heads Up: Facebook Is Preparing to Delete Some of Your Photos

Facebook is planning to delete some of your photos from your account. Before you panic, know this: There’s a good chance you don’t even know the photos are there.

Facebook launched an optional photo syncing feature in 2012 which allowed users to automatically upload their mobile photos to a private “synced” or “synced from phone” folder on Facebook. The idea was that the photos would be easily accessible if users wanted to share them at a later time, CNN Money explains.

Now Facebook really wants its users to install Moments, its new private photo-sharing app. In an effort to push people to download and use the Moments app, the social media giant is planning to delete users’ synced photos on July 7.

If you have photos in your synced folder that you want to keep, then you can download the Moments app from the Apple App Store or Google Play before then. If you don’t want to install Moments but you have photos in your synced folder that you don’t want deleted, you can download those photos onto your computer from Facebook until July 7.

Click here for more information from Facebook on how to download or delete your synced photos.

Moments not only syncs your mobile photos, according to CBS News, “it can scan your images to pinpoint familiar faces and identify them with specific Facebook friends.” The app also allows you to group photos by event, and then share them directly with the specific individuals who are tagged.

Facebook’s employment of “encouragement” to get users to sign up for Moments is working. According to Tech Crunch, Moments has moved from a ranking in the 90s to the No. 1 app in the iTunes App Store this week.

What do you think of Facebook threatening to delete users’ synced photos if they don’t sign up for Moments? Share your comments below or on our Facebook page.

Comments
Heads Up: Facebook Is Preparing to Delete Some of Your Photos

2,149 Active Deals

More Deals