43 States Extend Income Tax Deadlines Due to Coronavirus

Advertising Disclosure: When you buy something by clicking links on our site, we may earn a small commission, but it never affects the products or services we recommend.

Working on taxes
Andrey_Popov / Shutterstock.com

The coronavirus pandemic gives us plenty to worry about — we don’t need to add fear of Tax Day to our list of concerns.

Uncle Sam knows this, so he granted an extension — to July 15 — for you to file and pay your 2019 federal taxes.

But what about your state’s taxman? Can you delay paying him, too?

The answer is “yes” if you live in one of the following states.

All of these states recently have granted residents extra time to file their state personal income tax returns or pay any associated taxes they owe — or both, in most cases. (Where only one date is listed, it is the deadline for both filing returns and paying taxes.)

  1. Alabama: July 15
  2. Arizona: July 15
  3. Arkansas: July 15
  4. California: July 15
  5. Colorado: The state has extended its deadline for paying taxes to July 15. The state has an automatic six-month extension for its deadline to file returns, giving taxpayers until Oct. 15 to file.
  6. Connecticut: July 15
  7. Delaware: July 15
  8. Georgia: July 15
  9. Hawaii: July 20
  10. Idaho: June 15
  11. Illinois: July 15
  12. Indiana: July 15
  13. Iowa: July 31
  14. Kansas: July 15
  15. Kentucky: July 15
  16. Louisiana: July 15
  17. Maine: July 15
  18. Massachusetts: July 15
  19. Maryland: July 15
  20. Michigan: July 15
  21. Minnesota: July 15
  22. Mississippi: May 15
  23. Missouri: July 15
  24. Montana: July 15
  25. Nebraska: July 15
  26. New Hampshire: The state is offering extensions to qualifying taxpayers who are impacted by the coronavirus pandemic and are unable to pay their income taxes by April 15, according to the New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration. For more information, contact the department’s Taxpayer Services Division at (603) 230-5000 (select option 2) between 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on weekdays.
  27. New Jersey: July 15
  28. New Mexico: July 15
  29. New York: July 15
  30. North Carolina: July 15
  31. North Dakota: July 15
  32. Ohio: July 15
  33. Oklahoma: July 15
  34. Oregon: July 15
  35. Pennsylvania: July 15
  36. Rhode Island: July 15
  37. South Carolina: July 15
  38. Tennessee: July 15
  39. Utah: July 15
  40. Vermont: July 15
  41. Virginia: The state will waive late penalties if taxes are paid by June 1, but taxpayers will still incur interest if they do not pay by the usual deadline of May 1. For filing returns, the state has an automatic six-month extension.
  42. West Viriginia: July 15
  43. Wisconsin: July 15

Additionally, Washington, D.C., has extended its deadlines for filing and paying taxes to July 15.

The other seven states do not have any personal income taxes.

The best online tax software

Glad to get an extension? Don’t relax too much! July 15 will be here before you know it. So, it’s time to crunch those numbers. Fortunately, the process likely won’t be as bad as you fear.

Online tax software is available to make it easy to meet your tax obligations. And such software has one big advantage in the year of the coronavirus: You can file from the safety of your home without having to worry about face-to-face contact with a tax preparer.

Earlier this year, we listed our picks for “The 5 Best Tax Software Programs for 2020.” They include:

Get smarter with your money!

Want the best money-news and tips to help you make more and spend less? Then sign up for the free Money Talks Newsletter to receive daily updates of personal finance news and advice, delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up for our free newsletter today.